.

LETTER: Fourth of July Ticket Blitz Over the Top

How dare the police infringe on our public holiday in what is clearly a planned out day where in they can line their coffers. This has nothing to do with public safety.

The police are blitzkrieging our city and it’s not right.

I woke up to a ticket on my car at 9 a.m. for having no front tag. My car has been parked in the same spot for two years. Everyone on Malibu Road has tickets for parking in their own driveways.

There are over 12 police cars and cycles pulling people over.

On my ride from Broad Beach, I saw one police officer pulled over at Zuma, another at Point Dume, one by Paradise Cove and coming down the hill by Ralphs, two motorcycle cops each pulled out at the same time pulling over two separate cars and as I made a left turn onto Webb Way another cop had pulled over a victim.

On my way down Malibu Road I counted 20 tickets on cars.

Happy Independence Day Malibu.

How dare the police infringe on our public holiday in what is clearly a planned out day where in they can line their coffers. This has nothing to do with public safety.

Shame on you police. We don’t even have our own station.

vanessa July 06, 2012 at 02:41 PM
I second this! I paid 10 dollars to park my car in the Zuma lot only to come back to a ticket for expired tags. My registration was paid, smog complete but for some reason my tags had not arrived by mail yet. Really? I was out with my kids for the day having a great time. Unreal!
Cherri July 06, 2012 at 03:24 PM
Same thing happened to me a couple of weeks ago at the Point Dume Reserve Park! RRR!!! I called Lost Hills PD and they told me I could fix this so its a lot less of a fine. When you get your tags in the mail you drive to the Lost Hills Police Station, show the tag to an officer, she/he signs off on the ticket at the bottom (under the "certificate of correction" section) for $17. You mail the signed-off ticket to the court with along with another $10. So it'll cost 27 instead of 73 bucks.
Zuma Skipper July 06, 2012 at 04:27 PM
Everybody, welcome your new Malibu City Council approved full-time parking enforcement company Secural. At the last Council meeting they signed the agreement with this company, which by the way also does parking enforcement for Calabasas. The Lost Hills Sheriffs usually only ticketed gross violators for parking but these guys' sole function is to write parking tickets for the City of Malibu. The pictures above clearly show that it was Secural writing these tickets on behalf of the City.
Dee Rivellino July 07, 2012 at 01:32 PM
I've lived on PCH for 40 years & can count on both hands how often police are visiblle after the speeder who endangers everyone everyday.. Not very!!! Yet 2-3 police officers can be found on Civic Center Way everyday waiting for the poor soul who forgets that during school year you can't make a left turn from Malibu Canyon to Civic Center ..incidentally they are stationed there all of the time now....The only benefactor is the treasurer of Malibu . Recently I made a left turn onto PCH from Bluffs Park putting my seat belt across me At the same time , i got the worse cramp in my shoulder so i immediately loosen the belt as i drove down the hill.. i saw the flashing lites and couldnt imagine why!!! By means of a rather loud microphone you could hear inside Ralph's, he told me to pull over .. By this time I was near Super Care.Drugs . I pulled into their parking lot.. I opened the car door And proceeded to exit when He screamed literally screamed STOP"Reaching for his hand gun. I got out and said "are you going to do shoot me"???? I hear similar stories daily ... Of course everyone claims "not guilty" but so many including this "dangerous felon (me)are ... The consensus is the cops have been instructed to ticket as much as possible to raise revenue. How sad for my childhood memories when they were our "protectors" Hurt is the driver trying to safely travel PCH daily.
Alex White July 07, 2012 at 04:51 PM
Everyone with half-a-brain knows that on a traffic stop, you stay in the car with your hands on the steering wheel until the officer approaches you and addresses you. It's an officer safety issue-- and yours as well, seeing as how you don't like an observant and cautious officer with a hand on his service weapon. Not everyone pulled over on a traffic stop is a nice person. Many, many law enforcement officers have been killed or seriously injured by dangerous felons exiting vehicles on a routine traffic stop and opening fire. It's basic police academy Ambush 101 training. There are no routine traffic stops. Get real!
R Y A N September 05, 2012 at 09:02 PM
FIRST DO NO HARM: In my recent testimony to the Public Works Commission about parking enforcement, I stated that the ENFORCEMENT ACTIVITY SHOULD NOT IMPEDE OR ENDANGER TRAFFIC on the road, especially PCH. I restated this to the Public Works Commission that all parking enforcement on Cross Creek Road/Civic Center Way should be by FOOT PATROL so that the ticket-writer's vechicle doesn't contribute to the parking/circulation problem. That photo on Malibu Road showing Secural's vehicle illegally parked Starsky-and-Hutch-style" (backwards and blocking the ONLY opposite-direction travel lane) takes the cake. In Secural's haste to make profit, safety and walkability of City streets has been unnecessisarily degraded. The Secural contract needs to be rewritten to prohibit such consequential safety degradation or a legitimate Request For Proposal done by the City.
Bill September 12, 2012 at 08:26 PM
Subject: Stop Malibu City Council's Private Ticket-writing contractors from abusing us! Let the public decide. Hi, This is NOT about public safety, this is about Malibu City Council hiring Secural (a private firm) to write tickets on their behalf, mostly targeting residents. This is NOT about dangerous cars speeding down the PCH, this is about MCC lining their coffers at the expense of our local population! That's why I created a petition to Lou LaMonte, Mayor, which says: "Dear Mayor, Your decision to allow Secural to aggressively enforce parking violations in our residential neighborhoods is not making anyone safer, it is just running up frivolous tickets on tax-paying residents who are already besieged by tourists during the summer and weekends. You need to do a comprehensive review of their practices asap!" Will you sign this petition? Click here: http://signon.org/sign/stop-malibu-city-councils?source=c.em.cp&r_by=5575054 Thanks!
Terry September 12, 2012 at 09:49 PM
how can he afford a trip to china without the parking tickets. oh yes the gouge us at the building department also. city of malibu. ring the bell
Lori September 18, 2012 at 11:08 PM
My daughter (a Pepperdine Junior) got 5 duplicate bogus fix it tickets in 2 weeks.
Marshall Thompson September 19, 2012 at 03:40 AM
This parking and equipment violation "service" needs to be monitored and criticized as needed. I prefer a less rigid Malibu, not one that feels like Santa Monica or downtown LA where regular folks are seen by the City "Establishment" as "money pigeons," ready for the snaring, or even more extremely, they see us as criminals and enemies. I think it creates an animosity between regular folks and the City that is unnecessary and irritating. I have long been of the opinion that the main reason for the existence for the incorporation of the City of Malibu is to provide rich salaries, benefits, and pensions for the employees of the City rather than honestly being here for the good of the residents. Just look at the pension situation where employees contribute next to ZERO for their pensions and healthcare and get paid way more than similar work in the private sector. I think the parking enforcement contractor's contract should be repealed like yesterday.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something