.

LETTER: Point Dume Village Considering Parking Structure

A letter to the editor from Malibu resident Ryan Embree.

The parking structure solution for Point Dume Plaza was obvious and necessary from the time the previous market closed and the square footage was expanded to become Pavilions.

Under a now-gone city employee (planning manager), the "remodel" of the existing structures changed and intensified the uses which made the access, circulation, parking and sewage a casualty of the center's own success, yet the conditional use permit hearing was side-stepped.

The addition of the parking structure at the south end of the main parking lot will alleviate the offsite employee parking problem (all employees park on roof) to minimize adding inconvenience and time delays to market patrons having to take shopping carts or purchased goods up an elevator (like in Century City).

The disconnected northern parking lot should not have been calculated towards a cumulative total parking because it does not serve the market (there are never any shopping carts found discarded there) nor B of A anymore (their northern doors have been decommissioned for over a decade, shifting their parking demand to the main/southern lot).  That northern lot remains inadequate to serve the nearby restaurants and businesses directly above.

Point Pizza should stay, but IF Zan refuses to renew their lease, he should give them free rent for the rest of the year. That would reduce the jerk stigma somewhat. To survive, Point Pizza needs that rent savings for relocation expenses and a new lease, possibly in the Busch Drive shopping center, so that this local business can continue to serve families, surfers, local businesspeople, students, and tourists.

In the mornings, they could complement their pizza sales by serving bagels to go, reasonably-priced coffee, and some kind of dessert at night to increase sales (Laura's nuts!). The neighboring businesses there would benefit from the day-long foot traffic.

Ryan Embree

Hans Laetz October 11, 2012 at 03:06 PM
Terrible idea. Tell me exactly how an underground parking lot fits in with the Malibu vision, as stated in the General Plan. A parking structure is not rural, period. An overhead parking structure would obscure mountain views from the south. I spent several afternoons meeting voters in the parking lot last winter, and observed that numerous cars were parked in the same places for 6 hours or more. Employees deserve safe parking too, but moving them offsite would open up 20 or 30 percent of the spaces at that lot. Point Dume will appear to have ample parking by comparison to its competition at Trancas, where the parking shortage will be severe.
J. Flo October 11, 2012 at 03:19 PM
As soon as the new market and center opens at Trancas, that Point Plaza lot is going to thin out. Patience.
R Y A N October 11, 2012 at 07:35 PM
This opinion letter is not about the Trancas shopping center, Hans. How much money did you get from your lawsuit settlement against the Trancas developers? Are you going to sue Point Dume Plaza, too?
John Mazza October 11, 2012 at 07:43 PM
In the past I made a big point of the inadequate parking and was dumbfounded when the city council OKd the car wash in the parking lot at the Country Mart, the inadequate parking at the Malibu Inn ,the Lumber Yard and the new Nobu among many other commercial CDP and CUPs. I have to say that the new planning manager Joyce Parker- Bozylinski gets it and hopefully things will change in the future.
Hans Laetz October 11, 2012 at 08:03 PM
If Point Dume Plaza or anyone else ever plans to build in a lagoon, you are damn right I will sue and win again. And they will pay my legal costs, not one penny more. Filing a winning lawsuit was very expensive. Your opinion letter advocates a parking garage at Point Dume Plaza. You want to reward this guy for cramming too much development into his land, and for evicting local people like the Pizza shop. I will comment on whatever goddamn thing I want to, including your desire to help Zan Marquis build a parking garage at Point Dume. Stop being so petty and .. in this case ... saying something truly stupid.
Hans Laetz October 11, 2012 at 08:06 PM
Damn iPhone is hard to type on ... Are you really saying that comparing Poiunt Dume to other city failures -- like the looming mess at Trancas -- is against the R Y A N way? Who made you the grand editor of Patch? Tough nerts.
M Stanley October 11, 2012 at 11:08 PM
Profanity Hans? Repeated profanity and even veiled references to male genitalia? Is it really Hans or did someone kidnap you and steal your password....you can do so much better. Patch policies are being applied to others who use inappropriate language so I expect that the same will be shown to your comments that are offensive to read due to your choice of words inserted for dramatic effect.
JamieDixon October 11, 2012 at 11:50 PM
The lack of adequate parking would not be an issue if Conditional Use Permits issued by the City of Malibu limited the amount of use to the amount of use that can accommodated by the available parking and/or Conditional Use Permits were enforced (think Paradise Cove Beach Café). I know this is a stupid question, but, if the City of Malibu issues Conditional Use Permits and then doesn’t enforce the Permits why does the City of Malibu require Permits? Oh, Permit Fees. That makes sense because the City needs the Permit Fee revenue to pay the Administrative Services Department and the Environmental Sustainability Department, which issues the Permits that are not enforced... Does the City of Malibu have future pension liabilities for workers that issue Permits that are not enforced? If not, please disregard the last question/comment.
Hans Laetz October 12, 2012 at 12:33 AM
Next time I will say gosh darn to jolly whitakers. If the dramatic effect offends you, I'm sorry to the community. If you can find any reference to male genitalia, then I'm sorry for you.
John Mazza October 12, 2012 at 05:31 PM
The city issues Conditional Use Permits because the Coastal Commission, through our Local Coastal Plan, requires then in certain situations. Compliance is another question because the Coastal Commission has limited enforcement capabilities.
Marshall Thompson October 12, 2012 at 06:06 PM
Ryan, I would hope that Point Pizza does NOT relocate to the small Busch Drive retail center. Spruzzo's Restaurant in that center IS a pizza maker and provides home delivery service, and it offers an extended Italian and California fusion menu plus a full bar and indoor and outdoor dining. Point Pizza would be a duplicative offering, in my opinion. Also, the parking in that lot is already highly stressed from existing retail businesses and additionally so with the recent relocation of the very popular Joey Escobar Karate studio that is packed daily with swarms really cute kids doing their martial arts training, watched by a gaggle of parents/nannies who all seem to drive Range Rovers with disabled placards. (Must be some kind of regional virus) The Bush Drive shopping center parking lot is at capacity-plus now.
J. Flo October 12, 2012 at 07:22 PM
So true!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something